Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2011, 04:20 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Ways to fix severly underexposed pics??
Lens: pentax-f smc 50mm1.7 Camera: K-x Photo Location: Omaha ISO: 800 Shutter Speed: 1/90s Aperture: F1.7 

Could you give me your honest opinion on how I should have dealt with this picture? Threw it away? Or, what your advice is on fixing severely underexposed shots? I'm an experienced novice and wanted to practice shooting in low ambient light. Most of the light available were christmas lights hanging overhead. Did my best to rescue this picture. Also your opinion on the fixed version? Much appreciated!

Attached Images

02-01-2011, 04:47 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
That looks crazy over-processed. So I gave it a few minutes. (Could have done better with original full-sized file.)

I didn't bother with noise reduction because I don't mind the mood it creates. Shot is a bit OOF but one has to live with that.
Attached Images

02-01-2011, 04:50 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

In general though, I have to say the way to do these shots is to become competent with flash. Dark shadows are never appealing.
02-01-2011, 05:03 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Looks alright! Thanks! I can tell from your version that some of the inexplicable facial expression is preserved since it's not as processed as mine.

02-01-2011, 05:13 PM   #5
Pentaxian

This is the best I could do without the full size image. The biggest problem with this image is that it is not in focus. The darkness can be fixed but not to a level where you would want to print it very large. It takes a bit of work and a PP program that has layer and masking capabilities.