need advice re: fixing overexposed highlights

I am brand new to photoshop (just bought CS3) but have been spending a good deal

of time reading up/watching tutorials. I recently shot senior pics for a

friend's daughter, and of course, the ONE AND ONLY must-have photo this girl

wants is the one that has seriously overexposed highlights. It's a color photo

(and I'd upload it if I knew how, but I don't think that's an option here).

Does anyone have any suggestions regarding options I might try? I've played

with curves, levels, shadows/highlights, ..... I haven't really gotten the burn

tool to do much at all or it just adds kind of a grayish color.....

I probably need something more sophisticated/complicated than a simple one-step

option and even at that, I'm not certain it's salvageable.

thanks for any input.<div>00Mopp-38933584.thumb.jpg.7123502b0fc2fab50666daa269a49193.jpg</div>